Vita: Willi Ruppert & Wort-Bild.de

Two tiny, fine life stories ...

Fascinated by the multilateral phenomenon 'language' since school time (I graduated in English and Latin), the passion for 'verbal moments' and the 'linguistic power of figurative expressions' have never left me again.

Basics: Degree in Philogy (Goethe University Frankfurt)

Out of this passion my decision was born to study the Humanities, in particular American and Russian Studies (majors: Linguistics, Social Science, Literature) at the Johann-Wolfgang-Goethe University of Frankfurt/Main. Before, while and after studying I collected a wide variety of colorful experiences, e.g. by providing the compulsory civil service (Zivildienst), traveling foreign countries, enjoying life and its adventures, working as a Frankfurt night cabbie and more. Thus, in 1999 Alma Mater sent a mature Master of Arts into the world.

Fine tuning by vocational (and continuous self-educated) training

In the mid-nineties a second inevitable passion crossed my path of life - the cultural phenomenon Computer, especially the world of the Internet. Severely infected by the 'Online-Virus', I decided to add a profound professional education as New Media Consultant. During twelve challenging months I gained necessary insights and essential professional knowledge: Programming languages (HTML, JavaScript), digital image processing, basics of multimedia, online research, journalistic texting, WWW-technologies and more. Internships and freelance jobs finally topped my professional skills as Online Journalist, Web Designer and Webmaster.

Pleasure in language work …

Interships, my frelance work as part-time journalist as well as the correspondence course "Journalist" ensured my occupational fine-tuning as "Scribe".

... in web technological matters ...

From January to November 2000 I was employed as Project Manager, Web Designer and Online Journalist with an Internet&Ecommerce Service Provider in Frankfurt/Main where I deepened my professional knowledge of web-based technologies (webmastering, administration of web servers / databases).

… and in media-specific handicraft

Mastering common MS Office applications and web / creativity software tools is the second base of my online handicraft. Creating, editing and maintaining digital datasets (text, images and more) are well skilled tasks. As Web Professional I acquired in-depth insights into the Internet technologies. The professional handling of Web Content Management Systems (primarily TYPO3) is the inevitable outcome of countless hours of self-educated activity. Thus, curiosity, interest and perseverance formed my today's level as TYPO3 Power User (~ Certified TYPO3 Integrator).

Establishing my Media Office "Wort-Bild.de"

In November 2000, I launched my Office for Language and Web Services "Wort-Bild.de". Since then, I have been working as a Freelancer, in fact as Copywriter, Online Editor, Content Manager, and Web Professional. My degree in American Philology, my linguistic knowledge of the English language and my acquired terminology/expertise (mainly Internet, web technology, IT, software, technical knowledge, marketing) enable me to work as Specialist Translator (BDÜ Membership; EN <> DE).

Since 1999, gaining work experiences in projects, projects, projects …

Over the past years I have been working for NGOs very frequently. My primary task was to maintain/extend the contents of their (very) comprehensive infosites. On the other hand, various content jobs challenged my productive creativity as Copywriter. When implementing many small-scale web projects, I gained valuable hands-on knowledge of very different aspects in the Crossmedia / Web production line. Translation projects required my abilities as Linguist und Project Manager.

Particularly relevant for self-employed professionals: Trained strong soft skills

In longstanding client relationships my freelance work was/is so seamlessly integrated into their specific internal organizational workflows that my proven social skills (in particular customer-oriented behavior, reflection, communicativeness, team spirit, flexibility, reliability) are called for. Furthermore, creativity, effectiveness and self-motivation turned out to be guarantors of my success as self-employed professional.

Be fexible and take the stance (= Asana ;-)

In my leisure time I enjoy practicing Yoga as a way of holistic personal development. In 1992 I took my first classes in classical Hatha Yoga - and since 2000 I am a internationally certified Yoga Professional after finishing a profound, long lasting Yoga Teacher Education (estimated time investment: eight-semester master's degree). I am/was an active part-time Yoga instructor and subject specialist, too. Regular (education) journeys to and long time stays in India have been supplementing and strengthening my acquired practical and theoretical insights into this highly complex, metaphysical philosophy. To deepen my relation with the authentic Indian roots of Yoga in general and to support ideals of human unity in particular, I try to spend at least two months per year in the universal township Auroville.

Vita: Willi Ruppert & Wort-Bild.de

Zwei kleine, feine Lebensgeschichten ...

Schon zu Schulzeiten begeistert vom Phänomen Sprache (Abifächer Englisch, Latein), haben mich seither die Leidenschaft für 'Alles Wörtliche' und die Faszination für die "Sprach-Kraft in Wort-Bild-ern" nicht mehr in Ruhe gelassen.

Grundlage: Philologisches Doppelstudium

Aus dieser Leidenschaft entsprang meine Entscheidung, Amerikanistik / Russistik (Schwerpunkte: Literatur- / Sprach- / Gesellschaftswissenschaft) zu studieren. Die philologischen Studiengänge entwickelten meine Fähigkeit, Sachinhalte schnell zu erfassen und lesergerecht zu betexten - und ihre übersetzerähnlichen Strukturen eröffneten mir den späteren Einstieg als Fachübersetzer. Die souveräne Handhabung der Sprachen (v.a. Deutsch, Englisch) ist die Grundlage für meinen Erfolg in Studium und Beruf. Nach bunten Wirrungen im Lebensverlauf - Zivildienst, Auslandsaufenthalt, Zeit zum Leben, langjährige Tätigkeit als Nachtkutscher u.a. - schickte Alma Mater im Januar 1999 einen 'ausgereiften' Philologen (Magister Artium) in die Welt.

Feinschliff per Berufsbildung (und fortwährender autodidaktischer Weiterbildung)

Seit Mitte der neunziger Jahre gesellte sich eine zweite Leidenschaft hinzu - das Kulturphänomen Computer, besonders die Welt des Internet. Noch zu Studienzeiten (etwa 1994) schwerwiegend vom 'Web 1.0-Virus befallen', bewog es mich als künftigen WORT-BILDner zu dem Entschluss, eine zwölfmonatige Weiterbildung (1999) anzufügen. Das berufsbildende Fachstudium zum Referenten für Neue Medien an der Mainzer Fortbildungsakademie der Wirtschaft vermittelte crossmediales Berufswissen: (Journalistisches) Texten, Recherchieren, HTML, CSS, Bildbearbeitung, Multimedia, WWW-Technologie, Online-Projektmanagement/-Marketing u.a.m.

Freude an der Spracharbeit …

Fachpraktika, die freie Mitarbeit als Journalist sowie der Fernlehrgang "Journalist"  gaben mir das berufsrelevante Finetuning als "Schreiber".

… an web-technologischen Zusammenhängen ...

Von Januar bis November 2000 war ich als Projektleiter, Web-Designer und Online-Redakteur bei einem Frankfurter Internet&E-Commerce Service Provider beschäftigt, wo ich meine web-technologischen Kenntnisse (Webmastering, Administration: Webserver / Datenbanken) erweitern konnte.

… und am medienspezifischen Handwerk

Die Beherrschung gängiger MS-Office-Anwendungen und Web-/Kreativ-Tools ist die zweite handwerkliche Basis meiner Beruflichkeit. Erstellung, Bearbeitung und Pflege von digitalen Daten (Text, Bild) sind geübte Aufgaben. Als Web Professional gewann ich tiefe Einsicht in die Internettechnologie. Der professionelle Umgang mit Web Content Management Systemen (v.a. TYPO3) kam auf autodidaktischem Wege hinzu und hat heute eine hohe Anwenderstufe (~ Certified TYPO3 Integrator).

Gründung meines Medienbüros "Wort-Bild.de"

Im November 2000 gründete ich mein Medienbüro für Sprach- und Webdienste "Wort-Bild.de". Seither bin ich als freiberuflicher Texter, Online-Redakteur, Content Manager und Web Professional tätig. Mein Studium, die nachweislichen Englischkenntnisse und das erworbene Sachwissen (v.a. Internet, Webtechnologie, IT, Software, Technik, Marketing) ermöglichten mir zudem den Einstieg als Fachübersetzer (BDÜ; EN <> DE).

Seit 1999 Berufserfahrung durch Projekte, Projekte, Projekte …

In den vergangenen Jahren arbeitete ich regelmäßig als freier Online-Redakteur/Content Manager für NGOs und betreute große Websites. Viele Content Jobs förderten meine produktive Kreativität als Texter. Bei kleinen Web-Projekten erwarb ich Hands-on-Wissen in vielen Aspekten der Crossmedia- / Online-Produktionsstraße. Übersetzungsprojekte forderten mein Können als Philologe (angewandte Linguistik). Je nach Projektanforderung war ich in allen beruflichen Kontexten als Projektmanager gefragt.

Vor allem als Freiberufler: Nichts geht ohne Soft Skills

Meine freie Mitarbeit war/ist bei langjährigen Kundenbeziehungen so nahtlos in deren spezifische Organisationsabläufe integriert, dass meine realitätserprobten social skills (v.a. kundenorientiertes Handeln, Reflexionskraft, Kommunikationsfreude, Teamfähigkeit, Flexibilität, Zuverlässigkeit) zum Tragen kamen. Kreativität, Organisationsfreude und Eigenmotivation waren weitere Garanten meines freiberuflichen Erfolgs.

Flexibel bleiben und Haltung (= Asana ;-) wahren

In meiner Freizeit beschäftige ich mich besonders gerne mit dem überpersönlichen Bildungssystem Yoga. Seit 1992 bin von diesem ganzheitlichen Entwicklungsweg begeistert. Als umfassend ausgebildeter Yoga Professional (geschätzter Investitionsaufwand: 8-semestriger Vollzeit-Masterstudiengang) war/bin ich nebenberuflich als Gesundheitserzieher und Fachreferent aktiv. Regelmäßige (Bildungs)Reisen nach und Langzeitaufenthalte in Indien ergänzen und vertiefen meine erworbenen praktischen und theoretischen Einsichten in diese hochkomplexe, metaphyssche Philosophie. Um meine Beziehung zu den authentischen, indischen Wurzeln des Yoga im Allgemeinen zu stärken und um die Ideale der menschlichen Einheit im Speziellen zu unterstützen, versuche ich mindestens zwei Monate im Jahr in dem internationalen Gemeinwesen Auroville zu verbringen.